Archive for the Category » Indian Animals «

Portuguese Man O’ War – Even on the Gold Coast of Australia

The Portuguese Man O’ War is found all over the world, including every warm water seas, but especially in tropical or subtropical regions of the Pacific and Indian oceans, as well as the Northern Atlantic Gulf Stream. What’s very interesting about the man o’ war is that it’s not just 1 animal. It’s actually 4 different animals with different abilities and disabilities, which makes each part of the man 0′ war absolutely dependent upon the others. They like to hang out at the surface of the ocean, due to the air-filled sac or air bladder that they use as a sail and to [ ... ]

Dugongs Are an Extremely Vulnerable Species

Dugongs are large marine mammals in the same order as manatees, and are often called “sea cows” as a nickname. The majority of them live in Northern Australian waters… I’ve had the amazing opportunity to see them out in the wild in Shark Bay off of Western Australia. Fantastic creatures! What an awesome blessing! (I know the video below is of dugongs in Shark Bay, but it will still tell you a lot about them and how they live…) Dugong bodies are fusiform, which means they are wide in the middle and taper off at both ends. Their

You Say Bearcat – I Say Binturong

The Binturong is also called the Palawan Bearcat, Asian Bearcat, Bearcat. However, it’s neither a bear nor a cat! LOL…It just resembles both of those animals. To me, it looks like a large raccoon species. It, too, is an arboreal species that is nocturnal – instead of sleeping in a nest of sorts, it simply sleeps on branches of rainforests in Asia, India & Indonesia. Although it is classified as a carnivore, it is omnivorous! It eats mostly fruit, but has been known to dabble in eating eggs, small animals like rodents and birds, shoots and leaves. Binturong are known for their happy chuckling [ ... ]

Orangutan May Be Extinct by 2012!

Scientific Classification: Kingdom: Animalia Phylum: Chordata Class: Mammalia Order: Primates Family: Hominidae Subfamily: Ponginae Genus: Pongo Species: P. pygmaeus, P. abelii As stated above, there are 2 species of orangutan. They are considered primates or apes. They differ from other apes in that they have longer arms than other species, twice as long as their legs, and have reddish hair, instead of the characteristically black hair other apes possess. Adult males can be up to 5’9″ tall – taller than me, and weigh up to 260 lbs…Females are typically half as heavy and reach 4’2″ tall. Orangutans are especially known for their great intelligence. These apes live in trees, making them an [ ... ]